Author Topic: CDA playing and cataloging  (Read 2101 times)

Pablo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
CDA playing and cataloging
« on: February 11, 2012, 22:42:38 »
Hi there guys.

I'm new to this forum and, in fact, new to gmusicbroser. I'm astonished with the power of this app and I have to say that it allowed me to step into the Linux world (even though I was using open source programs under Windows preparing myself to move on, I was stuck to Win due to another amazing music library app: MediaMonkey).

Although, there is something I miss in GMB: the ability to play audio CDs and to catalog them into my library WITHOUT ripping them.

I don't know if this was already discussed, my apologies in that case, but I would like to suggest this feature or to know the rationale behind its ausence.

Thanks in advance!

Pablo

Quentin Sculo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1082
    • View Profile
Re: CDA playing and cataloging
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2012, 02:01:20 »
Sorry but no, supporting playing CDs or cataloging them is not planned.
With the ever growing hard-disk sizes, I don't think supporting physical CDs makes much sense. Even if you only want lossless, you can put a lot of CDs on a 2TB hard disk, and it is just so much more practical.
Why do you want to catalog CDs without ripping them ?

Pablo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: CDA playing and cataloging
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2012, 11:00:07 »
Well, to avoid the workload and the time waste!!!

I own a 200 CD colletion, which is not the biggest you can imagine, and I don't want to spend so many time rippin' all of them!

Cataloging them is just a way to know what you have and where, and you always can rip just what you really hear  most frequently.

But well, I understand your point and it is something I can live with ;-)

Best regards!!!!

Pablo