Author Topic: unexpected custom filter behaviour  (Read 1663 times)

neilscott

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
unexpected custom filter behaviour
« on: June 05, 2015, 16:15:24 »
Hi

I have a custom field:

neil-rating, field type - rating, field name - Neil (not using standard rating field as Gill and I have very different musical preferences)

In field Label (field name Labels) I currently have Classical, Duplicate and Live options

I set up a custom filter to find non duplicate tracks that I haven't rated as below:

All of:
Neil set to default

Any of:
Labels has none
Labels doesn't contain duplicate

The "Labels has none line" seems unnecessary but without it the filter only contains tracks with the default rating and with "Classical" in Labels

I can't understand how it took me so long to find gmusicbrowser but am really enjoying having control over my music collection for the first time in around 10 years. My son wrote a windows multi-rating filtering mp3 player when he was 14 (now 30) but lost interest and never delivered v2 or a native linux version. Unfortunately organization changes to my music directory structure have negated the 15k tracks Gill and I had rated in it. Before switching to gmusicbrowser I had used guayadeque for a few months but it simply does not deliver the same degree of control or usability. It did, however, enable me to create playlists of my classifications and ratings which the multi-track editing capabilities of gmb made short work of.

Many thanks


Quentin Sculo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1082
    • View Profile
Re: unexpected custom filter behaviour
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2015, 01:34:24 »
hi, thanks for reporting this, I somehow overlooked this bug for a long time. I've fixed it in git : http://git.gmusicbrowser.org/commit/4cc27c7969

It's always nice to hear that people are enjoying my work :)

neilscott

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: unexpected custom filter behaviour
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2015, 10:48:07 »
Hi again

In case anyone has the same issue and is waiting for the next release I thought I should mention that I just realized that the "does not include" rather than "does not contain" option for labels (and moods BTW) works perfectly and gives me perfect control over my collection!

I have started putting a selection onto my new Fiio X1 mp3 player but have a small issue with the export plugin which I will detail in a new post.

Thanks again for a brilliant system.