Okay, so I've tried reading the faq and downloaded these tar archives "mpg321" and "flac123" but honestly I haven't the slightest idea what to do with them.

I'm new to ubuntu so I don't really know how these things work. I tried extracting them to the "usr\share\gmusicbrowser\plugins" directory, but it says I don't have the privileges.

All help would be greatly appreciated. Please if you do decide to help me, use human language as if you were talking to a todler ;)

zarnaik

You don't need to download tar archives of mpg321/... you can just install them from ubuntu's software center, gmusicbrowser will find them if they are installed.

But anyway, how have you installed gmusicbrowser ? there is a version in ubuntu's software center that should be fine, it will install automatically most of what you need.

By default gmusicbrowser should use gstreamer to play music, you can check which music file formats are supported by going in preferences, click on the "audio" tab, and the gstreamer part of the dialog will tell you which formats are supported, if you need more formats, you'll have to install gstreamer plugins from ubuntu's software center.

In particular by searching for "mp3 gstreamer" in ubuntu's software center you will find "fluendo codecs to decode mp3" or "Gstreamer extra plugins" that will allow you to play mp3 files. (you may have to enable some software sources in the edit menu-->"software sources" for mp3 codecs because they are not considered 100% free-software due to patent issues)

Don't hesitate to ask for more details if you need.

#2 November 02, 2011, 08:13:34 Last Edit: November 02, 2011, 08:18:42 by zarnaik
EDIT: as always I'm to hasty and skipped on reading the last three lines  :-[
Testing atm.